The Governors at The Blake School are a well informed and committed group of twelve volunteers who work as a team to-

Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;

Oversee the financial performance of the school, making sure its money is well spent.

As part of the Oxford Diocesan Schools Trust (ODST) the work of the governing board is supported by the Directors of ODST. The Directors have delegated many responsibilities to the governors, if you want to read more about this you can do so here.

The governors work closely with Mr Edwards-Grundy, Mrs Patchett and the wider staff team; they routinely visit school to monitor the implementation of the school's strategic priorities. Governors receive training and support from ODST and the Diocese to help them fulfil their role effectively.

Meetings of the full governing board take place once a month during term time. There is huge variety to the work of the governors and so where necessary they also meet in smaller groups/committees.

Governors are always happy to be contacted by parents/carers and children. Governors can be contacted via the school office, or you can email them at: governors@blake.oxon.sch.uk

Governors	Role on governing body	Term of office	Appointed by	Pecuniary Interests
Tim Edwards-Grundy	Executive Headteacher	01/09/2012	Governor by virtue of his position as executive headteacher	Works for ODST in an additional role as a School Improvement Advisor. Also a governor at Leafield Primary School.
Matt Beer		New to the Governing Body in September 2024	ODST (Foundation Governor)	

Buth Codynyould		25/06/2024 –	ODST	
Ruth Cadywould		24/06/2028	(Foundation governor)	
Liz Henderson		17/09/2024 – 16/09/2028	Staff	
Jason Hoyland	Chair of the Finance committee SEN and Pupil Premium link governor Vice-Chair	18/10/2017 – 17/10/2025	ODST (Foundation governor)	
Clare Huggard	Safeguarding governor Vice Chair	01/11/2022 – 31/10/2026	Parent governor	
Elizabeth Knowles	SIAMS link governor	01/09/2022 – 31/08/2026	ODST (Foundation governor)	Former employee of OUP Also a governor for St Mary's Infant School

Deb Miles		14/11/2022	ODST	
Rob Miles		14/11/2023 – 13/11/2027	(Foundation governor)	
Andrew Newham	Chair of	02/12/2019 –	ODST	
	Governors Member of the finance committee	01/12/2027	(Foundation governor)	
Rebecca Patchett	Head of School	01/09/2024	Governor by virtue of her role as Head of School	
Chris Rimmer		17/09/2024 – 16/09/2028	ODST (Foundation governor)	
Jane Slater		New to the Governing Body in December 2024.	Elected by the Parent Body.	